I Ain’t the Police! / ¡Yo No Soy la Policia!

Okay! Here it goes! The article NO pastor wants to write nor should have to write! You remember the story, don’t you
• of the feeding of the five thousand, or was it the three thousand, and the version of that story that has Phillip whining to Jesus about not having enough food to feed the gathering of folks on the hill in the out-of-the-way-place? …or was it a valley?! No never mind! Memmer? Jesus had a little tantrum bought and told Phillip and the others, “You feed them!” I love it when Jesus has a tantrum!
• Then there was the “Get behind me Satan!” to Peter when he “dared” to criticize Jesus’ idea of the centrality of suffering in his ministry! (Matthew 16:23) Remember that one? Jesus was REALLY cranked! But then they made up! That’s always the best part! We need to do that, too!
• Or the time Jesus told his mother at the wedding at Cana in Galilee, “Woman, how does your concern affect me?” (John 2:4) Love that line!!
He didn’t even call her “mother,” just “woman!” Oops!
…and how about that “your concern” line! Yikes! What would the look on your mother’s face be if you talked to her like that? I bet everybody was making for the nearest doorway! HOT! His dad’s gonna hear about this! OH! Yeah! His dad is all knowing! Was already there! Hmm?! How did he get away with that?! Oh! That’s right! Live and let live! 70 x 7 times! Guess that’s how Jesus learned it!
• Or the time Jesus cursed the fig tree because he wanted a fig and it didn’t have any? (Mark 11:12-14)
• OH MY GOD! Then there was the whip and him driving out the money changers and rip-off artists! Mark 11:15)
‚Ä¢ Then there‚Äôs the one when he‚Äôs been teaching and teaching and we (I mean the disciples) still don‚Äôt get it and we (I mean they) get slapped with: “Do you not understand this parable? Then how will you understand any of the parables?‚Äù (Mark 4:13). Nice talk! Then he goes on and explains the parable!
• And with Pilate: “What is truth?” (Jn 18:38) The guts!!
No doubt that Jesus was a human!!! Nope! Nope! Nope! Jesus was definitely human. I bet he was a south side Chicago Irishman!! At least that’s the way it was modeled to me talk to people when I get cranked at the craziness of bizarre observations or am caught off guard with comments! Like standing in the parking lot and being asked where the Old Mission is, or with a bride in front of the church and being asked if this is where the funeral is about to begin! I mean, REALLY?!?!? Thank you, Jesus for being human! Thanks for the for-give-ness of your God-head, too! God I need it!

Oh yeah! Where was I? Yuh know?! During the liturgy on Sunday I really don’t have much control over what’s happening in the pews (especially at the back of the Church)! SO please! If you see something like hands being placed where they should be only in private, or teens texting (unless they’re texting me), or parents struggling to maintain order with their 2 year-old, or worse, their recalcitrant teenager: please try to figure it out yourself?! Tell the teen (nicely) to “off the phone!” Cough disgustedly at the wandering hands and say “Please!” They’ll both “dis” you (that means ignore you) or give you attitude with a glance. Give it back! Jesus did! And PLEASE! PLEASE! Help distract the two year old – or her four year old brother and give the mom/dad a break!

I really am not a magician. I have a hard enough time concentrating with what I see from my chair! The Liturgy really IS our common work! BTW! Shut off the cell phones!

fr. Charles

¬°Yo No Soy la Policia!

¡Bueno! ¡Aquí viene! !El artículo NINGÚN párroco quiere escribir ni debería tener que escribir! Se acuerdan de la historia, ¿no?,
• de cuando se les dió de comer a los 5000, o eran 3000,y la versión de esa historia que tiene a Felipe quejándose con Jesús de no tener bastante comida para dar de comer a los que se reunieron en la loma en aquel lugar remoto? . . . ¡¿o era una valle?! ¡No, olvídalo! ¿Te acuerdas? Jesús hizo un pequeño berrinche y le dijo a Felipe y a los demás, “¡Ustedes denles de comer!” ¡Me encanta cuando Jesús hace un berrinche!
• !Luego está el “¡Apártate de mí, Satanás!” a Pedro cuando se “atrevió” a criticar la idea de Jesús sobre la centralidad del sufrimiento en su ministerio! (Mateo 16-23) ¿Recuerdas esa? Jesús DE VERAS estaba furioso! ¡Pero luego, se contentaron! ¡Eso siempre es la mejor parte! ¡Necesitamos hacer eso también!
• O la vez que Jesús le dijo a su mamá en la boda en Caná de Galilea, “¿Mujer, ¿por qué me dices esto?” (Juan 2:4) ¡¡Me encanta esa frase!!
• Ni siquiera le llamó “madre,” sólo “¡mujer!” ¡Ay!
• …y que tal eso de “¿por qué me dices?” ¡Caramba! ¿Cuál fuera la reacción de tu mamá si le hablaras de esa manera? ¡Te apuesto que todos estaban con ansia de salir! ¡CALIENTE! ¡Su papá va a saber de esto! ¡OH! ¡Si! ¡Su papá lo sabe todo! ¡Ya estaba allí! ¡¿Hmm?! ¡¿Cómo se salió con la suya?! ¡Oh! ¡Así es! ¡Vive y deja que vivan! ¡70 x 7 times! ¡Yo creo así es cómo Jesús lo aprendió!
• ¿O la vez cuando Jesús maldijo a la higuera porque quería un higo y no tenía? (Marcos 11:12-14)
• ¡AY, DIOS MÍO! ¡Luego está el látigo y él echando fuera a los que cambiaban dinero y a los ladrones! (Marcos 11:15)
• Luego está cuando estaba enseñando y enseñando y nosotros (quiero decir los discípulos) todavía no entienden y nosotros (quiero decir ellos) reciben el “¿No entienden ustedes esta parábola? Entonces cómo van a entender cualquiera de las parábolas?” (Marcos 4:13) ¡Buena plática! ¡Luego continúa con una explicación de la parábola!
• Y con Pilato: “¿Que es verdad?” (Juan 18:38) ¡¡Qué agallas!! ¡¡¡No hay duda que Jesús era humano!!! ¡No! ¡No! ¡No! Jesús definitivamente era humano. ¡¡Te apuesto que era un Irlandes del sur de Chicago!! ¡A lo menos así es cómo se me mostró a mí que hablara con la gente cuando estoy furioso con sus locuras cuando me sorprenden con sus comentarios! ¡Como estar en el estacionamiento y que me pregunten que si dónde está la Misión, o con la novia frente a la iglesia y que me pregunten si allí es dónde el funeral está por empezar. Quiero decir, ¿¡¿¡¿DE VERAS?!?!? ¡Gracias, Jesús, por ser humano! ¡Gracias por el per-don de tu divinidad! ¡Dios, qué si lo necesito!

¡Oh, claro! ¡¿Qué estaba diciendo?! ¡¿Sabes?! ¡Durante la Liturgia los domingos en realidad no tengo mucho control sobre lo que está pasando en las bancas (especialmente al fondo de la iglesia)! ¡DE MODO QUE, Por favor! ¡¿Si ven algo como manos puestas donde deben estar sólo en privado, o jóvenes mandando menajes electrónicos (sólo que me los estén mandando a mí), o padres luchando por mantener orden con sus pequeños, o peor, sus jóvenes tercos: por favor traten de resolverlo ustedes?!

¡Díganle al jóven de buen modo que “dejen el teléfono!” ¡Con una tos molesta díganle al “manos largas” “!!!!POR FAVOR!!!!”

Los dos te ignorarán y te darán una mirada indignante. ¡Regrésasela! ¡Jesús lo hizo! ¡Y POR FAVOR, POR FAVOR! ¡Ayuden a distraer al pequeño y a su hermanito mayor y denles un descanso a su mama/papa.

Yo no soy mago. ¡Es bastante difícil para mí concentrar con lo que veo de mi silla! ¡La Liturgia en verdad ES nuestro trabajo común! ¡Oh, otra cosa! ¡¡¡Apaguen los teléfonos celulares!!!

padre Charles

Leave a Reply

